Splendor in Dún Laoghaire Harbour

I can’t get away from water.

Maybe it started when I went on my first paddleboard tour with Jerry. Or perhaps last summer when I visited three of the main beaches in Orange County. I don’t know. I’m lucky to have lived in places close to the coastline. If there were any place I could concentrate and do my best thinking at, it’d have to involve water.

A few days ago I talked to an elderly gentleman who recommends going to the Dún Laoghaire Harbour for something to do. I’m a big fan of boats. The sleek elegance of a yacht, the put-put-put sound of a Duffy. Sailboats are my first love, though. The other day was my first time in Dún Laoghaire. Located in South County Dublin, it’s about 7.5 mi away from Dublin city and is easily accessible by car and public transportation.

IMG_3653

I took the DART train from Pearse Station in Dublin and showed up here in the morning. It’s a nice place to practice photography and relax. You are also likely to meet friendly Dubliners going on their morning walks. Of course, you start to feel the chill! In that case, wear your gloves and go for a mini walk to the pier.

IMG_3655

The Commemorative Tower to the Hobblers is close by. A band of five men helped dock and moor incoming boats. They were called “Hobblers.”

IMG_3657

The west and east piers, respectively. There’s a lighthouse at the end of the east pier.

IMG_3664

The moss stands out against the rocks! I like experimenting, especially when I have time to focus on location for a long period of time. I was here for three hours, which seemed about right. (The cold won).

IMG_3665

That’s me.

IMG_3671

I’m proud of this one.

IMG_3680Yeah, I told you I’m obsessed.

IMG_3689

Close up of a gazebo.

IMG_3696

Dublin Bay.

IMG_3699

This woman and I looked out at the bay together with her dog.

IMG_3701

Bicycling never goes out of style.

1 thought on “Splendor in Dún Laoghaire Harbour”

Leave a Reply

