Daily Prompt: Smell You Later| Grandma’s House

Humans have very strong scent memory. Tell us about a smell that transports you.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TRANSPORTED.

One smell I can’t seem to get out of my mind is the smell of my grandma Jolee’s house. You could smell it as soon as you got out of the car. It was a combination of rain, of Jovan perfume, of her. Before I started college I got to visit her at least twice a year. Over the macaroni, chicken and lasagna dinners she cooked I remember her asking me how school was going and what I saw in my future. I watched her fast and steady hands knit away on her latest project, usually a gift for someone in the family. Gran has wisdom and a special way of letting people know how important they are. As I got older we talked about life and love and loss. She understood me when I was just getting back on my feet. This smell makes me think of the many family get togethers at her place: Christmas songs at her piano with the cousins, playing croquet, Easter Sunday, Thanksgiving and singing ‘Let It Be’ in the front yard for my grandpa who passed away last year. A transport back in time to these memories was never sweeter.

The view behind Gran's house.
The view behind Gran’s house.
Stopped by to see Gran before I started college.
Stopped by to see Gran before I started college.
Leave a Reply

