Daily Prompt: Competition| Y’all Better Watch Out

What activity, task, or game most brings out your competitive streak?

Playing Sequence is the Jopson cousin pastime. You might call us a clan, as we are moderate in number. There is nothing better than getting together at our little (and big) family reunions. I’m trying to think of a time in recent years where we didn’t play, and nothing comes to mind.

I do not consider myself a competitive person by nature, really, at all. Academically, I do put forth my best effort and since I started college my grades have only gotten better. But I realize there is something else I can highlight: my tendency to get incredibly competitive when I play Sequence.

A typical scenario at the Jopson’s might be all us cousins just putting down random chips at the beginning, because we don’t have a specific area on the board that we know the other person on our team is going for. We might distract each other by singing/humming the latest pop song and trying to read the other team’s expressions. We might raise an eyebrow and sigh, “I have nothing.” Bluffing is one of the best parts of the experience. All the while, I know when to strike. By the end, Andrew is saying, “No!” and “Jeni won again.” The only problem that crops up for me is usually if Matts is on the opposing team. (One time, however, I used my gaming prowess and beat him and I have to say that the expression on his face was one worth recording. I’ll never forget that day).

Here comes the weird part, and I’ve wondered this many times. Why do I do well when I play Sequence? The ironic part of my obsession with playing Sequence lies in the fact that I am not a strategic person. But for some reason, God let that characteristic slide and gave me an upper hand at this game.

Image
A Jopson family tradition. Here I am with my brother, Eric at Thanksgiving a couple years ago.
Image
Graduation weekend 2011, look how happy my cousin Andrew is! Playing sequence is wonderful and you can see the effects 🙂
Leave a Reply

