Sometimes, There’s That One Great Week

I’m back on WordPress. Never thought I would miss it so much.

I just wanted to write a note about how special this week is. Winter quarter is officially over, I took my last final today. It was for Chinese (I’m a second year student without a background in the language) and it went well. There were a couple questions that relied heavily on cultural intuition that stumped me, but it didn’t ruin my day. I recognized almost every character on the test so I consider it an accomplishment.

This finals week was my most relaxing yet. I studied plenty, polished up a final essay and played (aka watch movies and listen to music that I can sing along with). I even caught up with National Geographic and read some eye-opening articles about de-extinction. I almost felt guilty it floated by so slowly with that little pain…

Coming home, I thought about all the opportunities I have in front of me. I can still change my path if I want to, it’s not too late. I get to do what I want over Spring Break, and that freedom is one of the best things about the college experience.

My roommate and I went tanning poolside later in the afternoon. I still have a lot of work to do in order to see a difference in skin tone!

I also read some Moby Dick–it is one of the books that I thought was dreadfully tedious when we had to read part of it in high school, but now I realize I’m ready for it. Must be mature enough now. Or maybe the book simply found me. 🙂 I can now put the book into popular context and I really appreciate the quality of the writing.

As always, thanks for reading. You know who you are.

–Jennifer

Leave a Reply

