Daily Prompt: Kick It| Mission Accomplished

What’s the 11th item on your bucket list?

Jen’s Bucket List reads, 11) Fall in love

It started out with a jazz song. I sat in a gray Eddie Bauer fold up chair in a tiny dorm room and listened with ease. Why was I here? I asked myself. I closed my eyes and took in that song, and then the next song, too. The Audio Technica headphones were doing their job. I felt like a whole new world of music I had never discovered was slowly revealing itself. I hadn’t listened to a lot of jazz in my life, and I didn’t know how to distinguish between the “good” and the “bad.” All of this was good.

We couldn’t stop talking. The night was young, but we were so alive. Music preferences were shared, music played on a laptop behind us on the desk. We asked questions, we laughed, we looked into each other’s eyes. Later we sang along with our favorite songs on YouTube, and we noticed that there were a lot of similarities in the music we knew. Side by side, voices in sync. I spent seven hours getting to know him through the music.

Do I say it? flashed through my mind. When the music stopped, I said, “That was the most fun I’ve had in a long time.” I meant it, and I wanted him to know it. My eyes were bright and I wore a nervous smile on my face. He agreed with me, and I left with a final thought: I like him.

We’ve been together ever since.

This was my beginning, eight months ago.

For a little about me, I had always had crushes on guys since the first grade, just like any normal teenage girl. I just never really “dated.” Ironically, I gave love advice to my friends who had boyfriends. And then he came along, thanks to all of our friends at school.

Image

Keith makes my world brighter. We continue to share music–it helps remind us how we came together.

568438784186907181_6e9pz83Y_cPhoto

To me, love is the feeling of peace and warmness when you’re with him. You’re comfortable in your own skin. It’s the knowledge in your mind that you are the one person he wants to protect and cherish. Loving this person means being there for the wonderful times and also being there for the tough times, too.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Kick It| Mission Accomplished”

  1. Wow. How sweet! I like this post. Really. I am happy to read such kind of stories and made me hope that I’ll experience it soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

